The Watershed

A watershed is an area of land which all drains into one river system.

The Saugus River is 13 miles long and has six tributaries:

  • the Mill River
  • Bennets Pond Brook
  • the Pines River
  • Hawkes Brook
  • Crystal Pond Brook
  • Shute Brook

The river falls 90 feet from its source, Lake Quannapowitt in Wakefield, to its mouth at Boston Broad Sound.

The main stem of the Saugus River flows through four towns:

  • Wakefield
  • Lynnfield
  • Saugus
  • Lynn

Water from six more towns joins the river via small tributaries.

The Saugus River Watershed includes all of Saugus and portions of 10 other towns.

The watershed is over 47 square miles.

The watershed is an urbanized area with commercial, industrial and residential development.

Five major transportation corridors pass through the watershed: Routes 1, 95/128, 107, 1A and the MBTA Commuter Rail line.


The Saugus River Watershed Council
P.O. Box 1092, Saugus Massachusetts 01906

This page, validated for HTML 2.0, was revised on November 15, 1996.